DMCs in The Baltics

The Baltic states, also known as the Baltic countries, Baltic republics, Baltic nations, or simply, the Baltics (Estonian: Balti riigid, Baltimaad, Latvian: Baltijas valstis, Lithuanian: Baltijos valstybÄ—s), are the three countries in northern Europe on the eastern coast of the Baltic Sea: Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania. The Baltic states cooperate on a regional level in several intergovernmental organizations.

While the native populations of Latvia and Lithuania are known as Baltic people, those of Estonia (historically the northern part) are Finnic people together with the Finns. Following Northern Crusades during Middle Ages (i.e. Livonian Crusade), there were established additional nationalities such as Baltic German and Estonian Swedes. Following the Russian conquest of Baltic region of 18th century, many Estonian Swedes were resettled in newly acquired lands of Crimean Khanate as Swedish colony of Gammalsvenskby.
Linguistic and historical considerations intersect in defining the concept of "Baltic states": for example, while Latvian is phylogenetically related to Lithuanian (both belonging to the Baltic group of the Indo-European language family), Estonian belongs to a completely different family – the Finnic group of the Uralic languages, also spoken in Finland. The Livonians (a nearly extinct ethnic group closely related to Estonians) have also participated in the ethnogenesis of the Latvians: according to most accounts, the assimilation of (Uralic) Livonians by ancient (Indo-European) Baltic tribes was a notable influence on the development of the modern Latvian language.

Discover The Baltics

Booking Request